





FOLLOW US

номе 🚹 🕒



PAST RECIPIENTS

AWARD COMMITTEE

CONTACT US









THE BEN JOBE AWARD

02:01

Maryland Eastern Shore's Bobby Collins accepts the 2015 Ben Jobe award at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis.

April 4, 2016

2016 BEN JOBE AWARD

HOUSTON, TX -- Tennessee State's Dana Ford is the recipient of the 2016 Ben Jobe award.

Ford led the Tigers to one of the biggest turnarounds in NCAA history, going from 5-26 in 2014-15 to 20-11 in 2015-16. It was just the third 20-win season at the Division I level. The Tigers also made their first postseason appearance since 2012.

The Ben Jobe Award is presented annually to the top minority coach in division I men's basketball. An icon in the history of basketball at Historically

Black Colleges and Universities, Jobe is best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons.

His record at Southern was 209-141 and included four NCAA Tournament appearances. He also coached the Jaguars to one NIT appearance, five SIAC championships, 11 SWAC titles and two NAIA Tournament Championships. Perhaps his most memorable moment as a coach was Southern's 93-78 win over Georgia Tech in the first round of the 1993 NCAA Tournament. It stands as one of the great upsets in the history of the event.

2016 BEN JOBE AWARD FINALISTS

Roman Banks, Southern Rod Barnes, CSU Bakersfield Wayne Brent, Jackson State Ed Cooley, Providence Mike Davis. Texas Southern

http://www.benjobeaward.com/

Dana Ford, Tennessee State

Murray Garvin, South Carolina State

Avery Johnson, Alabama

James Jones, Yale

Robert Jones, Norfolk State

Edward Joyner, Jr. Hampton

Kevin Keatts, UNCW

Bashir Mason, Wagner

Mark Montgomery, Northern Illinois

King Rice, Monmouth

Montez Robinson, Alcorn State

Kelvin Sampson, Houston

Shaka Smart, Texas

Tubby Smith, Texas Tech

Rodney Terry, Fresno State

Willis Wilson, Texas A&M Corpus Christi

Main Home Contact Us

2/6/2017

Gene Bartow Award Jack Bennett Award Lefty Driesell Award Hugh Durham Award

Clarence Gaines Award Joe B. Hall Award Lou Henson Award Ben Jobe Award Kyle Macy Award

John McLendon Award Don Meyer Award

Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award

Kay Yow Award

More Honors

All-Conference Honors All-Decade Team Mid-Major All Decade Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.

All rights reserved.

